top of page

It's been awhile...

I know it has been awhile since I last wrote a post. A lot has happened since then which is probably why I forgot to write.

Since the end of July, we have finally found our partner family (YAY!), the house is 99.99% complete, and I had to opportunity to attend the 2016 A.B.L.E. Conference, and I completed the HFH's Loan Origination (LO) training through the ABA (American Bankers Association), oh yeah and our old office has been torn apart and is now a giant construction site...

Out newest partner is a single mom who has worked very hard to get to this point in time. She is ready, willing and able to do what it takes to be a successful homeowner. She has begun working through her sweat equity and getting ready for the closing date.

I look forward to working with her going forward.

In September, I attended the 2016 A.B.L.E. Conference in Owego, NY. I was finally able (no pun intended) to meet my AmeriCorps peers and share my experience and learn about theirs. It turns out that my preconceived notions of other AmeriCorps members were completely wrong. I thought that all the other AmeriCorps would be college-aged persons who came from a totally different place than I do. What I found is that there is a wide array of ages and backgrounds belonging to the other AmeriCorps. I found this somewhat comforting and not so out of place.

The LO training, while interesting....most of the time....was loooooonnnnnnggggggg. Many, many hours did I spend learning (over and over again) about the compliance laws in place for those working in the mortgage banking industry. Needless to say, I was glad when it was over. My hand was constantly cramping from all the notes I was taking. I am pretty sure the tip of my pen was glowing orange at one point from the friction caused by all the writing.

The atmosphere here lately has been chaotic due to the construction going on around me at all times. I am now so accustomed to the sound of power tools and loud banging around me at all times that it is sometimes hard to concentrate without it. Just kidding.

I am now in a temporary office until the front offices are done. I packed up my stuff before moving in such a way that I would be able to access the essentials right away when I came to this temporary space. I didn't really bother organizing anything, though, since I will be moving again soon.

I am very excited to get everything settled in once and for all, though. At work I like to have everything neat and tidy and in its place. Something that hasn't happened well, yet.

On a new topic, there are only five weeks left until my AmeriCorps service time is up. It has been a difficult year and I have learned a lot and I look forward to learning more.

Well, that's it for today. I'll be back soon.


Kristal Karash, Ulster County Habitat for Humanity Family Services Coordinator and AmeriCorps Volunteer

I am happy to be helping my Habitat affiliate to get its Family Services Program off to a new beginning.  Read More

Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page