top of page

Pouring in...


The applications are, pouring in! Well....maybe trickling is the more appropriate term here. But the volume of applications being turned in is greater than ever! Which is great, but sad at the same time, because it is evidence of the need for adequate, affordable housing in our area.

I get so excited every time an application for partnership gets turned in. In my head, I'm thinking, "Will this be our next partner family?" That feeling of knowing that in one way or another, I will be helping a family get started on the path toward successful homeownership is amazing. Even if a family is not selected at first for one reason or another, I am still able to help them by providing information about the steps they can take to help get them in a better place respective to what is needed to be a successful homeowner.

Along the way, I am learning so much about the world of finances that I was a little foggy on before. I have always wanted to increase my knowledge in this area and now I am. Not only am helping others, I am helping myself as well. Because someday, I want to own a home, too.


Kristal Karash, Ulster County Habitat for Humanity Family Services Coordinator and AmeriCorps Volunteer

I am happy to be helping my Habitat affiliate to get its Family Services Program off to a new beginning.  Read More

Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page